Checking in

Considering what a late start I had in the blogging game, I figured I should probably start posting more.  Not a ton to report, but here I go nonetheless:

Thursday was pretty cool.  It was different hearing Biden tell one story after the next about personal experiences with Tom Lantos and Shimon Peres rather than reading some canned political speech.  One of the more memorable moments of the afternoon came when the vice president cited the old Satchel Paige quote, “How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?” After which saying, “I’d be about 42, but you Mr. President(Peres) would be 25!” Indeed, as one of Israel’s founders alongside David Ben-Gurion, Peres’ eternal youth and abundant energy even today at age 90 was a major talking point and a takeaway.  

Over the weekend I went on a 45 mile bike ride to Mt Vernon and back on Saturday with an old track/soccer coach which was nice.  Sunday I ran 8.5 miles in the morning, went to brunch with some friends, then we all went to the Smithsonian National Museum of American History, which is always great.  After that we bummed around the Smithsonian Folk Life Festival with a high school friend of mine, rounding out a lovely weekend.

Currently working on a project where I’m making a spreadsheet of every single National Diabetes Prevention Program Site in the County with its corresponding congressional district, city, and congressman.  I’m currently about 500 people, it’s tedious, but I’ll be done in not too long.  Tomorrow I’ll be reading some new CDC information on diabetes and starting a project with that as soon as I finish up my current activity.  

Leave a Reply

